Committee structure


All councillors meet together as the Council.  At Council meetings, councillors decide the Council's overall policies and set the budget and level of Council Tax each year.  The Council appoints the Leader of the Council, the Cabinet and other committees and panels.  It is responsible for changes to the Council's Constitution and the various codes and protocols contained in it.


The Cabinet is the part of the Council that is responsible for most day to day decisions. The Cabinet is made up of the Leader of the Council and up to nine other councillors appointed by the Leader.


The Overview and Scrutiny Panel holds Cabinet to account for its decisions, monitors progress in corporate priorities and contributes to policy making in the Council.


Panels and Partnerships