Committee details


Purpose of committee

The Council comprises 39 councillors all elected every four years. The next District Council election is in May 2023. Councillors are democratically accountable to the residents of their ward. The overriding duty of councillors is to the whole community, but they have a special duty to their constituents, including those who did not vote for them. Councillors have to agree to abide by a Code of Conduct to ensure high standards in the way they undertake their duties. All councillors meet together as the Council. Meetings of the Council are normally open to the public and start at 4pm. At Council meetings, councillors decide the Council's overall policies and set the budget and level of Council Tax each year. The Council appoints the Leader of the Council, the Cabinet and other committees and panels. It is responsible for changes to the Council's Constitution and the various codes and protocols contained in it.



Contact information

Phone: 01354 622281