Skip Navigation
Navigation Menu

Devolution deal to be set in motion at first official meeting

Following the decision by all seven councils in the Cambridgeshire and Peterborough region to accept plans for devolution, the team tasked with pushing the deal forward will meet for the first time next week (Wednesday, December 14).

Devolution small icon

The 'Shadow Combined Authority', as it is known, will meet at The Allia Future Business Centre, Hawksbill Way, Peterborough from 11am.  On the agenda are items such as the selection of a chair and other representative posts, procedure rules, scrutiny and the process for the election of a Mayor of Cambridgeshire and Peterborough to lead the official Combined Authority, which is due to launch in February 2017.

Cambridgeshire County Councillor Steve Count, Chairman of the Cambridgeshire and Peterborough Devolution Partnership, said: "We have been given a clear mandate from both local people, the Local Enterprise Partnership (GCGP LEP) and the seven Local Authorities that they were supportive of the Devolution deal, so we need to get the wheels in motion and start delivering on what has been laid on the table. The Shadow Combined Authority will be making some key decisions in pushing forwards the creation of the official body - and that hard work starts on Wednesday."

Starting at 11am, the meeting is open to the public and the agenda and papers are available for viewing on the Cambridgeshire County Council website at:

The 'Shadow Combined Authority' has been set up to drive forward the creation of the official Combined Authority for Cambridgeshire and Peterborough which will include the Leader from each of the constituent local councils and the Chairman from the GCGP LEP. The creation of this body was an important part of the deal between Local Authorities and Government, which serves to ensure local communities now have direct representation for making decisions previously decided in Whitehall about how and where their money is spent.

The seven councils involved in the devolution decision for Cambridgeshire and Peterborough are Cambridgeshire County Council, Cambridge City Council, East Cambridgeshire District Council, Fenland District Council, Huntingdonshire District Council, Peterborough City Council and South Cambridgeshire District Council.

The decision made by the seven councils came after the Greater Cambridge Greater Peterborough Local Enterprise Partnership (GCGP LEP) had agreed to back the deal. 

Article added December 7, 2016