Skip Navigation
Navigation Menu

Cambridgeshire Police and Crime Commissioner Election Result

Jason Ablewhite has been elected as Cambridgeshire's new Police and Crime Commissioner (PCC).

Jason Ablewhite

The vote took place on Thursday 5th May across Cambridgeshire and Peterborough, with the result being declared on Friday 6th May at 17:27.

Jason Ablewhite, the Conservative Party candidate, beat Dave Baigent, Labour Party, after second preference votes were counted, as neither had managed to get 50% in the first round.

Mr Ablewhite received a total of 81,851 votes, while Mr Baigent received a total of 72,480 votes.

Turnout across the county was 30.56%.

Out of 598,959 registered voters, 183,039 voted in the Cambridgeshire PCC election.

The results of the1st preference vote results for Fenland were:

Jason David Ablewhite (Conservative) 5297

Dave Baigent (Labour) 2711

Nick Clarke (UKIP) 4497

Rupert Moss-Eccardt (Liberal Democrat) 869


The results of the 2nd preference vote results for Fenland were:

Jason David Ablewhite (Conservative) 1737

Dave Baigent (Labour) 1116


The voter turnout in Fenland was 13,669 (18.23%)


Police and Crime Commissioners have a responsibility for delivering an efficient and effective police service in their area. They set police and crime objectives, the police budget and issue grants to tackle crime and disorder. They are elected by the public to hold Chief Constables and the force to account, making the police answerable to the communities they serve. PCCs serve four years in office and can opt to re-run for the position at the end of their tenure.

For full details of the election, you can view the results graphic here:

Article added May 6, 2016