Skip Navigation
Navigation Menu

Your handy guide to the PCC election

The election for Cambridgeshire's new Police and Crime Commissioner (PCC) takes place on Thursday week (May 5). Here's a brief guide.

Ballot box

The PCC election is Cambridgeshire-wide and uses the supplementary voting system.

The four candidates are: Jason Ablewhite (Conservative), Dave Baigent (Labour), Nick Clarke (UKIP) and Rupert Moss-Eccardt (Liberal Democrats).

Voting takes place on Thursday, May 5. Polling stations will be open 7am-10pm.

Details of your polling station are given on your polling card or visit

A simple, clear explanation of how the supplementary voting system works is provided in a YouTube video created by Blackburn with Darwen Borough Council:

All the Fenland ballot papers will be verified after voting closes on May 5. The Fenland count will take place at the Hudson Centre in Wisbech from noon on Friday, May 6. The count is not open to the general public. Only candidates and agents can attend.

The results from all the six councils in the voting area (Cambridge City, East Cambs, Fenland, Huntingdonshire, Peterborough and South Cambs) will be collated by John Hill, the Police Area Returning Officer at East Cambs.

The result is expected around 6pm on Friday, May 6. It will be posted on Fenland District Council's website

For general information about elections in Fenland, visit

Article added April 25, 2016